End of the Year Lists (2011): Fifteen Favorite Films

I had a lot of trouble deciding whether to make this list right now or wait. There’s still a few films I’m really looking forward to but haven’t been released in Boston yet, or I just simply missed them (We Need to Talk About Kevin, A Seperation, Kill List, Margaret, Rampart). Ultimately I decided I didn’t want to release my favorite films of 2011 sometime in February, but if I see these films in the next month or two and they change this list I plan on submitting an updated list. Anyways, 2011 was kind of a strange year. There were some really great films, but I didn’t fall head over heels for most of them. There was usually some small aspect of the film holding me back. There were also a few films a lot of people loved but I found disappointing (I’m looking at you Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Artist). That said, this list is very subjective and truly reflects how I felt about the year in film.

Read the rest at IndiesUnchained!

About Sean Temple

Filmmaker, Progressive, Feminist, Emerson MFA Student, Director of HUNT. I use film to critique our society and reveal the struggles real people deal with every day. View all posts by Sean Temple

Leave a Reply

