Punch Drunk Love: Evidence of my Cinematic Evolution

A couple weeks ago I spoke in depth about my cinematic evolution. I found it very interesting to really look back and pick out the films that have profoundly affected the way I watch film. Well, last night Punch Drunk Love, by Paul Thomas Anderson, made it blatantly clear how much I’ve grown as a film watcher and filmmaker. I watched Punch Drunk Love for the first time 5 or 6 years ago. I thought the film was okay. It was obviously well made, but nothing special. I never really invested in what was happening or Adam Sandler’s character. I thought, “Who’s that socially awkward? Come on.” The beginning felt slow and boring. The relationship felt weird. The whole film felt… weird, and that one viewing affected the way I thought about the film for the next 5 to 6 years. In my mind, Punch Drunk Love was just kind of, “meh.” Umm… what the hell was I thinking? Find out why I was wrong at IndiesUnchained!

About Sean Temple

Filmmaker, Progressive, Feminist, Emerson MFA Student, Director of HUNT. I use film to critique our society and reveal the struggles real people deal with every day. View all posts by Sean Temple

Leave a Reply

